The Internet Vagina Posse

Finish this thought:

Posted in Share your Experience by Dresden on June 5, 2007

A good friend calls you up and says that she wants to have a baby. She knows that you have been through hell and back working towards the same goal. She asks you for advice, words of wisdom, pearls of brilliance.

You take a breath. You push away the part of you that knows you will hate this woman if she dares get knocked up before you. And you say: _____________________.

Then you get off the phone as quickly as you can.

An hour passes. Your head is filled with things that you wish you had said.

Please share those thoughts with the class.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. the_road_less_travelled said, on June 6, 2007 at 3:20 am

    I’d Let her know it might happen quickly or she might be in for a long crappy journey. I’d tell her to start charting and learn how her body works. Tell her to get some OPK’s and wish her good luck. Oddly enough this happend to me. She wasn’t a friend but felt the need to tell me as we work together. I wished her luck and said no more. I just didn’t feel like sharing my story.

  2. nycphoenix said, on June 7, 2007 at 3:53 am

    This has happened to me. I told my friend that it may take a while but if she wanted to start off as natural as possible go ahead and that I’ll be happy to answer any questions along the way. They got as far as OPKs and temping before getting pregnant, about six months in. I helped her pick brands and the tips to maximize the OPK results

  3. Co said, on June 7, 2007 at 4:56 pm

    Never happened to me. No one IRL has ever asked my advice.

    Everyone I know IRL–gay or straight–who is thinking of TTC in the near future or has just started expects that they will get pg right away, whenever they decide to start trying. They say things to me like, “But OPKs are SO EXPENSIVE.” (Hello? You can’t spare $15 to get pg?) Or they go on about how fertile their siblings are, so of course, they’ll be equally so. Yadda yadda yadda.

    They look at me with pity, because I don’t have the luxuries they have–free, fresh sperm and uber fertility (as of yet unproven–but they’re SURE they’ve got it. I may be unlucky in that department, but not THEM).

    So, I don’t talk about it. Lest I have to smack somebody.


Leave a Reply

